Delhi Police pays homage to martyrs on Commemoration Day

New Delhi, Oct 21: The Delhi Police organised a Commemoration Day Parade in remembrance of the personnel who sacrificed their lives in the line of duty between September 1, 2019 to August 31, 2020.

The parade was held at New Police Lines Ground, Kingsway Camp. Delhi Police Commissioner S.N. Shrivastav read out the names of the 11 martyrs.

A total of 264 police personnel, including 11 of the Delhi Police were killed in one year in India while serving in their respective forces.

The eleven officers and men of the Delhi Police were: ACP Sanket Kaushik (Traffic), ASI Lal Man Singh Shishodia (PCR), ASI Raghubir Singh (North Distt.), ASI Zakir Hussain (North Distt.), ASI Mahavir (Traffic), HC Amar Singh Meena (South-East Distt.), HC Rattan Lal (North-East Distt.), HC Vijay Pal (East Distt.), HC Wazir Singh (PCR), HC Vijay Singh (Outer-North Distt.) and Ct. Vikash Kumar (Outer-North Distt.) laid down their lives in the line of duty.

Retired Police Commissioners T.R. Kakkar and Dr. K.K. Paul, Special Commissioners R.K. Sharma, Dr. Aditya Arya, Dr. U.N.B. Rao, Ms. Vimla Mehra and P.K. Bhardwaj, and serving Delhi Police officers and men paid homage by laying wreath at the memorial. A two-minute silence was observed in remembrance of the martyrs.

“Sixty-one years ago on 21st October 1959 on this very day, a small troop of the Indian policemen who were stationed at Ladakh for the safety of the nation was suddenly ambushed and attacked by a huge number of Chinese soldiers who were hiding in the mountains.

“During the attack, 10 Indian police personnel were martyred. Since then, in order to pay homage to these brave martyrs, we remember them on this day. Simultaneously, we also pay homage to all those brave personnel who sacrificed their lives in the service of the nation in the last one year,” said a senior Police officer.